Site seeing – 22 February

The Internet has changed the way we model. No longer do we have the tyranny of distance – where what we model is simply too far away. Over the last few years a modellers ability (in my case from Ballarat Australia) to model US prototype no longer relies on the US model magazines to show me the areas I can model. And this does not apply only to the US. If you want to model Romanian railways, French, Lithuanian, Scottish, Welsh, South African or Chinese railways the resources are out there for you.

Modelling magazines have changed what they present too. There are the old school magazines, like Model Railroader, and the new magazines like Model Railroad Hobbyist, S Scale Resource and O Scale resource among others.

Site 1: The O Scale Resource

Another of the new style magazines, with no upfront costs and advertiser supported. The new March – April edition of the magazine was just released.

  • There’s a review of the O Scale West (USA) show
  • A feature on Battery power, and
  • Making retaining walls from castings

Check the website for more and note that you can also download previous issues for free.

Resources

The O Scale Resource Magazine (Offsite Link)

About Andrew Martin

After a long IT and Telecommunications career in the USA and Australia, I've decided I need a break. Professionally I'm focused on direct contact customer service - people helping people. Hobby wise I'm focused on model railway layout building and modelling. I blog, write and publish as often as I am able.
This entry was posted in Information, Magazine, Publishing, Site seeing, Web and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.