Allowing time

In early February Chris Mears (on the Prince Street blog) posted a great article on the difference between real railroaders, and most model railroaders.

I won’t say much more about this – first read the post, and then come on back to this blog and read about some of my wants in the design of the new layout.

Prince Street

I recently wrote about building more time into a typical operating session and filling that newly-minted time with time to enjoy watching the trains I was running and also time to incorporate more aspects of a typical day of work on my little stretch of railway so that what I was watching looked like real railroading. After posting that, a reader sent me an email offline relating his experiences at the throttle on an actual shortline. He introduced things I never knew or thought about and his contribution was just so wonderful I couldn’t imagine not sharing it. Given his relationship with the railroad I wanted to find a way to share his message while not compromising his position. I have edited his message with that in mind.


I like your comments about allowing sufficient time for each function. Watching other modellers running trains can be pretty comical at times…

View original post 778 more words

About Andrew Martin

After a long IT and Telecommunications career in the USA and Australia, I've decided I need a break. Professionally I'm focused on direct contact customer service - people helping people. Hobby wise I'm focused on model railway layout building and modelling. I blog, write and publish as often as I am able.
This entry was posted in Layouts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

