Site seeing – May 23

I’ve mentioned before how much I love taking my time when I’m working my layout. While reading Lance Mindheim’s blog [ + Link Here ] the other day I came across one of his older posts talking about exactly that; so I thought that I’d share Lance’s words on the subject.

Site 1: Lance Mindheim’s ‘Capturing the Essence of Industrial Switching Operations

I’ve followed Lance’s thoughts for a long time and while I don’t always agree with everything he writes I do agree with this article.

Specifically he writes: “Industrial switching operation is characterized by a slow, purposeful, rhythmic cadence. Locomotive crawl at a few miles an hour as they pull cars from the deck and deal them with precision to the customer’s door. The atmosphere is one of mass, momentum, and the sound of 2000 horsepower prime movers constantly throttling up and then cycling down…over and over and over.”

While it is a long post, there is a lot for the person interested in switching, but lacking in the understanding of what really goes on in the real railway world to absorb. Hope that you enjoy the article. It’s 4 years old, yet still as valid today for the switching minded as when it was written. I dare say it will remain as valid for many years to come.

Image 1: An image of one of Lance’s switching layouts

About Andrew Martin

After a long IT and Telecommunications career in the USA and Australia, I've decided I need a break. Professionally I'm focused on direct contact customer service - people helping people. Hobby wise I'm focused on model railway layout building and modelling. I blog, write and publish as often as I am able.
This entry was posted in Site seeing, Sites of interest, Web. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Site seeing – May 23

  1. David says:

    Andrew,
    Thanks for this post, but your link doesn’t take me to a blog post on the website. I would love to read it, if you can post the link. The search on his website doesn’t seem to work either. Or maybe it is just me! LoL

    • I fixed the link in the first paragraph to point to the right location. I was going to be terrible smart, and provide a link to the main page (that first link) and then a specific page link later in the article. Unfortunately, the plans of mice and men oft’ go astray. All fixed now. Thanks for bug-fixing for me.

Leave a Reply

