Site seeing – June 10

I love YouTube.

It has changed the way we see a lot of our entertainment. As a modeller I now have access to the widest array of videos both current and historical that I could want. While tooling around today I found the following videos that I thought would be of interest for those modelling from the mid 1930s through to the 1960s in the UK, specifically in the quarrying industries.

Site 1: YouTube Video – Teeth of Steel

It is a great video created during the war, in colour no less, showing a lot of pit operations, including moving walking drag lines.

Site 2: YouTube video – Steel

This second video goes into detail of the British steel industry. Filmed right at the end of the war, with all the rebuilding works about to kick in it showcases the quality and craftsmanship of the British steel industry. Watch for the scenes of Ironstone railways.

I hope that you enjoyed these videos. There is a lot in there for the modeller to take note of especially with the older mechanical tools of the time period.

About Andrew Martin

After a long IT and Telecommunications career in the USA and Australia, I've decided I need a break. Professionally I'm focused on direct contact customer service - people helping people. Hobby wise I'm focused on model railway layout building and modelling. I blog, write and publish as often as I am able.
This entry was posted in Site seeing, Sites of interest, Web, YouTube and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

