MODELING: Ready for Paint on Wilson Car

I’ve highlighted this build before, but wanted to share Gene’s final before paint images of his Wilson reefer. You’ve really got to take a close up look at the details he’s added during the build.

Enjoy.

Gene's P48 Blog

Wilson side view

I had a few hours this week and was able to push to the completion on the Wilson meat reefer.   Primer application is the next step in the process and finally the color.    There are a few steps that I will go though showing details that were fabricated for the model.

Wilson trainline connect

I added the control valve connection to the train line.  The gray plastic parts were taken from a Grandt Line brake set.  I sliced the bottom off the tee and mounted it to the train line with CA.  The connection to the control valve with a cast elbow and pipe from the same Grandt sprue.

wilson drains

Ice was the cooling medium in these reefers.  The water runoff from melting ice was drained via pipes or hoses on the underframe.  I used some .060″ plastic hose inserted on a .040″ styrene rod.  I made the hose about 18″ long.  The drain is installed on the underside of the…

View original post 86 more words

About Andrew Martin

After a long IT and Telecommunications career in the USA and Australia, I've decided I need a break. Professionally I'm focused on direct contact customer service - people helping people. Hobby wise I'm focused on model railway layout building and modelling. I blog, write and publish as often as I am able.
This entry was posted in Layouts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

