The end of one year and the beginning of the next

The year that was

My birthday is the end of my year. It is the time when I draw myself close, ease back on the throttle and reflect on the year just passed, and what I hope and aim to achieve for the year ahead. This past year has frustrated and challenged me. I’ve found myself confronted, defeated, discontented, discouraged, disheartened, embittered, and stonewalled. I think you may see the tone of the last year now.

In late 2013 the company I worked for moved from family ownership to a corporate behemoth; I worked hard to make that changeover go as well as possible; I wanted the changeover to work and threw myself into the task. With that project ended I was laid off from my role. I saw that end as a sign and as a time for change. I.T. is a time succubus.; my family life and thereby my modelling life has suffered. I love my family, and my modelling is a happy place. Being in I.T. for so long had stopped that and I wanted my happiness back.

In 2015 I decided to re-train, and move away from I.T. to my real loves of writing, training and assessment. Since June I’ve been working away on achieving my certification in training and assessment and thus my time to do non-training activities were limited. Today sees the end of that transformative pathway. While I’m not there yet work-wise,  in all other aspects I  am on my way.

Over the last year I’ve been able to spend time getting to know my two amazing kids. My eldest gained the role of co-School Captain for next year. My youngster has already stepped up this year and competed in his school’s Lego Robotics Challenge locally and at the state level (a first for the school). He has taken part in the RACV Energy Breakthrough. This three-day event pits young people against the elements, mechanics and themselves in human-powered vehicles around a course for 15 hours. It’s like the Le Mans or Bathurst 1000 of HPVs.

My modelling time has been limited despite having the time off to do more of it. I preferred to spend the free time I had going to my kid’s school events, and other opportunities that I’ve never been able to do before. I’ve not been able to do any of these. I’ve been on-call as a tech and manager since 1984. That’s 30 years with either a pager or a phone attached to my hip. It’s nice not to have to worry about it now.

What’s ahead for the next year of life?

Funny you should ask. My focus for this year is on cleaning up and adjusting course. Getting work and enjoying life a lot more. Along with that come my family and my hobby. During December I’ll be posting the first part of the layout build, now that I have access to a full wood working shop (through my membership of the Ballarat East Community Men’s Shed). I’ll also be posting the first Layout Design Element of that layout (after not being entirely happy with the current plan, and there’ll be a few more projects that I want to put to bed also. I look forward to posting more modelling over the next few months and hearing back from you too. There’ll be more layout designs and other ideas that I’ll post too. Looking forward to writing to you more this month.

About Andrew Martin

After a long IT and Telecommunications career in the USA and Australia, I've decided I need a break. Professionally I'm focused on direct contact customer service - people helping people. Hobby wise I'm focused on model railway layout building and modelling. I blog, write and publish as often as I am able.
This entry was posted in Layouts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

