Site seeing – February 03 – (the scrapped, scrap and best scrap edition)

In my previous post I discussed an industry that I am hoping to add to the layout extension when that gets built later in 2016 or early 2017.

Wolfgang Dudler MMR (who passed to the great layout in the sky on 26/08/2012) still has a great site and some fabulous videos on YouTube also. In the scrap vein I feel that his scrap industry is the model to beat when it comes to realism.

Site 1: Wolfgang’s Scrap Yard scenes

Take a look at the video and the overall impact of the scene. Wolfgang was a master model railroader for a reason.

Site 2: Westport Terminal RR

Wolfgang’s site is still up and going as of this post. I don’t know how long the site will be up so I would suggest that you head on over and take a look at the man’s modelling. It is inspirational.

About Andrew Martin

After a long IT and Telecommunications career in the USA and Australia, I've decided I need a break. Professionally I'm focused on direct contact customer service - people helping people. Hobby wise I'm focused on model railway layout building and modelling. I blog, write and publish as often as I am able.
This entry was posted in Layouts, Site seeing, Sites of interest, Web, YouTube and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Site seeing – February 03 – (the scrapped, scrap and best scrap edition)

  1. I’ll settle for a team track that’ll have scrap brought from a near by yard….for the boat trains (when a ship is in Boston harbor taking scrap metal overseas). As they did back in the ’70’s and ’80’s in these New England parts!

    • Jonathon – I cannot remember where I found it, but there is a prototype industry that loads scrap metal into 20 foot ISO containers (on their end). These are then set down normally and put on trucks to be shipped where-ever. I saw this in a lot somewhere (and it may have been in the North East there. I always thought that it would be a great small space industry in the modern age. You don’t see much 20 foot ISO container traffic any more, but for this they’d be perfect. You could also go into larger containers too.

Leave a Reply

