Site update: 02 December – More weathering photos

I’ve completed the remaining weathering of the body of the 40 foot Hi-Cube. There may be one or two more minor tweaks that I’ll make to get that just right look, overall I am very happy with this cars look. As an experiment using multiple techniques that I’ve not used altogether before I’m very happy and will try this next on a HO scale car. Where are we up to?

Flash on showing most of the car completed

Flash on showing most of the car completed

The second round of body and roof weathering has gone on. Keeping in mind that this car ran mostly in the dryer states and most of that in Texas in my modelling location there is a preponderance of dust and rust and not a lot of rain weathering. I believe that I have another of these cars in my O scale stash and will document the weathering as I go in the next week for all of you.

Interior shot showing the walls and weahtering

Interior shot showing the walls and weathering

I am particularly pleased with the internal look of the car. I hand painted the interior since I wanted a little tooth on the interior of the car, adding some Acrylic Painting Medium to the cheapo acrylic paint to thin and help it settle.

Close up of the wall and floor weathering

Close up of the wall and floor weathering

Minor touch ups to the door openings remain, to add the dings and rusting, prevalent around boxcar doors. Overall I’m pretty happy with the outcome. There are still the trucks to do, but we’re getting close. More again soon.

About Andrew Martin

After a long IT and Telecommunications career in the USA and Australia, I've decided I need a break. Professionally I'm focused on direct contact customer service - people helping people. Hobby wise I'm focused on model railway layout building and modelling. I blog, write and publish as often as I am able.
This entry was posted in 1:48 (US O Scale 1/4"), Acrylics, Atlas O / TrainMan, Manufacturers, Modelling, O Scale, Oils, Pastel Powder, Powders, RustAll, Site Updates, This Site, Updates, Weathering, Web and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Site update: 02 December – More weathering photos

  1. Charles says:

    Great job and nice photos.

    • Thanks Charles
      I’m getting better and am happier with my results now. It’s taken years of playing around to get where I wanted to go with this art of the craft of modelling. I’ve also enjoyed the journey, no matter how painful it has been looking back at my earliest work. I used to think it was so cool! Time is the best teacher.

Leave a Reply

