The year that was, the year coming

A very big thank you to all of you this year for reading and taking part at Andrew’s Trains. I’ve not been able to achieve all of my goals for the site, however I’m pleased to have achieved what I have. There’s only me at the other end of the keyboard, no production team, no writers, designers or PR people swilling champagne (thankfully). Just me.

I’ve already prioritised projects for 2017. Among them are:

  • A smaller HO scale layout (for use inside the house and on the Australian exhibition circuit
  • A re-purposing of the 3 4′ x 2′ boards in the garage to an O scale layout specifically for exhibition (and the occasional playing session at home when the weather is nice, and
  • Completion of all the outstanding model building articles

None of these are in any specific order, they are on my hit list.

It’s been a good year

It’s been a good year for me on Andrew’s Trains. I’ve managed to more than double visitor numbers and page views. And that is very pleasing. While the year’s final numbers are not in, just yet, I’ve already reached my personal goals for this site in 2016 calendar year.

What I’d like to focus on during 2017

I have some woodworking projects to complete this year. I need to finish the design of my exhibition saw-horse stands and make a couple of test units to prove the concept. Then there’ll be more wood working for the book shelves in the house where the new HO scale layout will live inside the house (where it’s warm, and nice during Ballarat winters). And from where I can run my fun sessions with the family when we feel the mood take us.

Track laying in O scale will be the next thing to learn. It’s something that I’ve wanted to learn for a very long time. Now I’m finally brave enough to give this a go.

Finally, all the best to you for the year ahead. I hope that you have an enjoyable, fulfilling and worthwhile year. I’m aiming to live the hell out of 2017. See you their next year.

About Andrew Martin

After a long IT and Telecommunications career in the USA and Australia, I've decided I need a break. Professionally I'm focused on direct contact customer service - people helping people. Hobby wise I'm focused on model railway layout building and modelling. I blog, write and publish as often as I am able.
This entry was posted in Layouts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The year that was, the year coming

  1. Charles Malinowski says:

    I look forward to seeing your 2017 progress…and sharing mine with you.

    “Track laying in O scale..”
    For anyone considering hand laying track I would highly recommend visiting Mike Cougill’s website.
    http://www.cougillstudios.com
    There are two free PDF downloads that will really get you excited about O scale track laying. I did purchase Mike’s book…”Detailing Track” and will incorporate Mike’s lessons on my S scale home layout which I hope to begin constructing in late 2017.

  2. Charles
    Thanks for the links. One of the books I had, the one on turnouts I did not. I’ve bought several of Mike’s ebooks over the years and love his work even though I am not modelling in Proto 48. I am using code 100 rail, and already have 1500 four hole tie plates to get me started. I would like to get some serious detailing into the track and will eventually buy some of the products for the switches that he talks about to round out the track model.

    Thanks for the emails too. Much appreciated. I’ll be in touch soon.

Leave a Reply

