Site seeing – February 13 – The Clamp it edition

Despite what you might be thinking (for those of us old enough to remember this television show) this is not about the family made rich through an accident during hunting for dinner. This post is about creative solutions shared on one of my favourite sites when building to a hard right angle. So despite wanting to tell you a story about a man named Jed it’s time to launch into today’s site seeing adventure.

Site 1: Model Railroad Hobbyist – Clamps for assembling structures

I have thought for some time about buying a right-clamp for assisting building my structures. Especially so since I do a lot of scratchbuilding. When I saw this pop up on my email feed from MRH I just had to share some of the ideas here.

My favourite one (since I have most of these available now) is this creative use of Lego:

Image courtesy of MRH Forums

Head on over to the post and see some of the other great ideas presented there. I have to say though that this one really ticked all the boxes for me.

About Andrew Martin

After a long IT and Telecommunications career in the USA and Australia, I've decided I need a break. Professionally I'm focused on direct contact customer service - people helping people. Hobby wise I'm focused on model railway layout building and modelling. I blog, write and publish as often as I am able.
This entry was posted in Information, Modelling, Site seeing, Sites of interest, Tools, Web and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Site seeing – February 13 – The Clamp it edition

  1. yvrr says:

    I love my rightclamps! I have enough to do all four corners at once. I also have magnetic ones, and a few others. I’ve seen a trick with Lego before where the Lego is glued inside the right angle, especially in styrene or resin freight cars, but haven’t seen this version. Thanks for posting this, Andrew!
    Cheers!
    Jeremy

    • Jeremy;
      You are most welcome. I thought the Lego idea was simple and brilliant. While I’d love a Right Clamp or four, just too expensive here in Australia. So Lego and a hair clip is going to be it for me.

Leave a Reply

